Posted by: ahallatt | June 23, 2008

Slow Food Movement

I’m a big proponent of the slow food movement. My working day is broken by a long lunchbreak, which involves cooking up leftovers from the night before or constructing a decent sandwich to have away from my desk. Before I moved (I’ve just arrived in Melbourne), I would sit with my boyfriend and chat. If he wasn’t around, I’d either mull over the morning or what I had to do in the afternoon, or read.

It’s a far cry from when I worked in an office where long lunchbreaks were seen as an anathema to productivity. If you had any lunch at all, it was de rigueur to bolt down crummy sandwiches in front of the computer screen, preferably while still working. Good nutrition, digestion and stress reduction was for wimps.

No wonder I folded.

Responses

  1. As a very slow eater I can only agree with all this.

    Hope all’s well in that new country you’re trying out now, and all the people are being nice. And letting you eat your lunch in peace.

  2. It’s a great place, but unfortunately a lot of people have realised this and seemed to have moved here at the same time as me! Finding an apartment is a bit of a mission. And I have deadlines nipping at my heels! I’m sure you are all sorted now that you are back from your travels, right?

  3. I agreed with you


Leave a Reply

Categories

