Posted by: ahallatt | June 29, 2008

Art Galleries – Low Impact Entertainment

Finding a rental property in Melbourne is a bit of a mission. There is a less than 1% vacancy rate here right now. In the meantime, I’m staying with my good friends, Dale and Debbie. Dale is a techno-freak and has a house full of consumer goods: 3 computers, umpteen kitchen gadgets and a massive LCD TV that has replace the plasma TV he had before. He argues that this is environmentally friendly because it uses less power, but I know he knows that those power savings will never make up for the environmental cost of production and the eventual cost of disposal.

So when I find my flat, I am going to resist the urge to get a TV at all. I can get a lot of my entertainment online. I can play DVDs on my Mac (even the 8 year old G4 titanium laptop I’m typing on right now) and I can “go out and do something less boring instead“. The movies, musuems, galleries: I love going to art galleries and a visit to a Colin McCahon exhibition at the Christchurch Art Gallery inspired this Sunday cartoon.

Colin McCahon exhibition in Snowpeak, Arctic CircleClick on image to see bigger cartoon strip.

Responses

  1. What wonderful work is being done here. Very thoughtful and with lots of thought provoking items. I am a contemporary artist myself and always enjoy seeing the art of fellow artists and join discussions about art. I just recently have started my own site and hope that over time it will grow into an online art community where artists and art enthusiasts alike can meet and discuss their thoughts on art. Will recommend your blog to my friends. Will come back for more and wish you all the best.

    P.s. Wish you all the best for your future work.

    • Thank you, Anna!


Leave a Reply

Categories

