Posted by: ahallatt | August 4, 2008

Second Hand Isn’t Second Best

 

ceramic and wood coasters to save the carpet

ceramic and wood coasters to save the carpet

One of my two bargain chairs (sideboard and lamp also second-hand)

One of my two bargain chairs (sideboard and lamp also second-hand)

I like to buy second-hand most of the time for several reasons: a. it is much cheaper, b. there is little or no packaging involved and you are really recycling, so that has to be better for the environment, c. you get things that have more character than what is available in the shops.

I had a great day shopping for my flat yesterday. The “Posh Op [opportunity] Shop” furnished me with two corduroy chairs ($30 each plus $20 for delivery) and some ceramic coasters ($5 for 5) to prevent my retro sideboard from chewing up the deep pile carpet. Then, as I popped into the Salvation Army just before closing on my way to return DVDs to the library (To Sir With Love***, 84 Charing Cross Road****), I found a wonderful old cooler ($10.25). Now trying to find things that aren’t made of plastic is a real mission, so this was quite a triumph. I can’t wait for the summer and picnics galore with lashings of ginger beer – hurrah!

 

Old style icebox (aluminium?)

Old style icebox (aluminium?)

Responses

  1. We’ve got a great thrift store a few miles from our house. Monday is 20% off day, and my wife never comes home empty-handed. Just a thought, plan your next trip to the US so you hit Arlington VA on a Monday.

  2. What a great tip! I’ll be there the next Monday I’m in Arlington VA…


Leave a Reply

Categories

