Posted by: ahallatt | December 2, 2008

It’s Beginning to Feel a Lot Like Christmas

This year, I was asked to do the Holiday Special for King Features, It was a bit honour and a little daunting, but I worked on a continuous storyline for four weeks’ worth of strips and I’m as happy with the result as a cartoonist riddled with self doubt could be. Here is the first one and I’ll put up occasional ones in the series as they are printed.

 

The Commercial Consuming Countdown to Christmas

The Commercial Consuming Countdown to Christmas

The lead up to Christmas sends me into a mild panic. Having moved hemispheres, I miss the seasonal queues and the rush is compounded by the extra time needed to post things back North. I sent out a plea to my family to make Christmas gift-giving a little more low key and less consuming next year (I sent a lot of seeds, and second-hand things, but there was an expectation and demands for more stuff). That caused a furore, oh boy… But really it means being more organised and more thoughtful, as I’ll need to create things rather than buy them. I think I’ll need to start in July.

Leave a Reply

Categories

