Posted by: ahallatt | April 20, 2009

Lucky Bike Break

I loved my bike. It cost $NZ999 5 years ago and I cycled thousands of kilometres on it. I did the Otago Rail Trail in NZ and regularly cycled up to Evans Pass and the Summit Road in the Port Hills around Lyttelton. When I moved to Melbourne and ditched the car, it became indispensable, getting me to places faster than public transport could. But one fortnight ago, when I was watching a concert I had cycled to in Alexandra Gardens, someone pointed out that my bike had a crack in it. A potentially fatal downtube crack in the frame.

I was devastated. Not only because it would mean spending a lot of money to replace, but also because I liked my bike just as it was and didn’t want another one because it might not have the same feel. I took it into a bike shop nearby and the guy was horrified and urged me not to even ride it home, as the frame could catastrophically fail. But he gave me the address of a bike shop dealing with Specialized bikes and I took it there.

I discovered that Specialized warranty their frames for the life of the bike, with the first owner. The problem was I had no receipt. Hampton Bicycles said they would see what they could do and I left it with them.

I got a call yesterday – not only did Specialized replace the bike frame for free (I paid $150 in labour, but that was well worth it), but it has been upgraded. Lighter and better construction and carbon forks and…the best thing…it’s RED.

 

It is going to take about 2 hours to put all the bits back on it

It is going to take about 2 hours to put all the bits back on it

 

 

Yes, I am a girl. A girl with the best bike in the Universe. 

 

Oscar's bike is specially adapted for short penguin legs

Oscar's bike is specially adapted for short penguin legs

Leave a Reply

Categories

