Posted by: ahallatt | June 5, 2009

Syncopated by Brendan Burford

Brendan Burford is my editor, but also a cartoonist in his own right. Random House has just published a collection of cartoons called Syncopated, edited by BB and it is fantastic. I picked it up last night and gorged myself. 

 

Syncopated Picto-Essays edited by Brendan Burford

Syncopated Picto-Essays edited by Brendan Burford

Here’s my Amazon review:

Great comics impress with their artwork and pithy writing and this collection is no exception, with cartoonists like Rina Piccolo, Nate Powell and Brendan Burford getting to stretch their creative legs across the pages. 

But the most impressive part of the “picto-essays” is that they leave you with something to think about, long after you have finished reading (which, in my case, was at two minutes to midnight, having devoured the book in one sitting). 

Because of this, I’m off to wikipedia to research the Tulsa Race Riots of 1921, I’ll be delving into my computer to see how I can switch to the Dvorak way of typing and I’ll never see hay bales in the same way again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

