Posted by: ahallatt | July 3, 2009

10 years as a professional cartoonist – a celebratory cake

I spend about half my working hours on Arctic Circle. Most of the rest of my work is commissioned. This year I began working for a really nice pharmaceutical company in Australia who are developing an H1N1 flu vaccine. I’m not drawing cartoons for that, but I have been doing some fun stuff on antibodies which takes me back to my biochemistry days. It has been 10 years since I quit clinical research to become a full-time cartoonist and I don’t regret any of it (though I do miss the paycheck and the stationery cupboard).

Anyway… they baked a cake with my character on it. The cake wasn’t actually for me, but I’m pretty chuffed anyway – no-one has ever put my character on a cake before!

The Milton Cake

The Milton Cake

 

The first Milton leaflet cover

The first Milton leaflet cover

 

This cover would have meant too much green icing

This cover would have meant too much green icing

Responses

  1. your picture it’s very good

  2. Hey Alex
    Congrats on the 10 years! Cartoon penguins are much more fun than test tubes and lab coats…although a free stationary cupboard would be pretty nice…


Leave a Reply

Categories

