Posted by: ahallatt | July 11, 2009

Elwood Book Group

I’m excited to be part of my first ever Book Group. We had the inaugural meeting last week and we’re kicking off with Kate Grenville’s Secret River. I wanted to get the book either second-hand, or at the library. There was one copy in the whole Glen Eira catalogue and I called to reserve it, but it was in transit.
“Don’t worry,” said the librarian “if you come into the library first thing tomorrow, it will be here and you can have it without paying a reservation fee.”
Score! So I cycled over to Elsternwick….and then realised I had left my library card behind…duh. The librarian was very accommodating and said she could look me up on the computer and do it without the card…but the book hadn’t shown up. Turns out it was a bit damaged and Carnegie had held on to it. They would loan it to me, but I needed to cycle home and get my card before cycling over there to pick it up.

Since I had already cycled to the pool in the morning, that was a lot of cycling.

Anyway, I got the book and I hope it’s a good read!

Elwood book group's first read

Elwood book group's first read

 Here is the list of possible books to be read:

Alan’s

  • Carson McCullers – The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter
  • Mordecai Richler – Barney’s Version
  • Graham Greene – Brighton Rock
  • Joyce Carol Oates – A Garden of Earthly Delights
  • John Updike – Rabbit, Run
  • Siri Hustvedt – The Sorrows of an American

Mine

  • Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring (non-fiction) –
  • Darwin and the Barnacle by Rebecca Stott (also non-fiction)
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro (Author)
  • The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

Catherine’s

  • ‘Goulds Book of Fish’ – Richard Flanagan
  • ‘The Red Tent’ – Anita Diamont
  • ‘The Book Thief’ – Markus Zusak

Louise (co-ordinator)’s

  • The Road Cormac McCarthy.
  • The Slap -Christos Tslokis.. any other books starting with “The”.. ha ha
  • James Joyce.. Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man.
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez.. 100 years of solitude.
  • Everything is illuminated Jonathon Safran Froer (actually recently read this but its on the Penguin cheap book printing and was worth another read).
  • Anything in the Penguin cheap orange prints at the moment such as In Cold Blood by Truman Capote
Responses

  1. How does my daughter or I join the book club?

    • If you live in Elwood, check out the posters that are up in Tennyson St shops or the Elwood General Store on Ormond and Glenhuntly Roads.


Leave a Reply

Categories

