Posted by: ahallatt | August 5, 2009

Skiving

Yesterday, I spent the day skiving. I avoided doing any work at all and instead had a fun day exploring Melbourne.

My hairdressers is in the wonderful Deco Manchester Unity Building - part of lobby frieze

My hairdressers is in the wonderful Deco Manchester Unity Building - part of lobby frieze

part of frieze from inside Salon Golightly

part of frieze from inside Salon Golightly

Getting the next book club book from East Melbourne library

Getting the next book club book from East Melbourne library

Unfortunately the coffee wasn't as good as the ambience of this North Melbourne cafe

Unfortunately the coffee wasn't as good as the ambience of this North Melbourne cafe

On the way to Seddon

On the way to Seddon (not my bike!)

Coming back from Yarraville on the Docklands bike path

Coming back from Yarraville on the Docklands bike path

Getting closer to the city

Getting closer to the city

First it was a necessity, then it was a hobby and now it's a sport? Guh.

First it was a necessity, then it was a hobby and now it's a sport? Guh.

I hope something good is going to go behind this bluestone shell

I hope something good is going to go behind this bluestone shell

inspired by Len Lye

inspired by Len Lye

I’ll be going back to the Len Lye exhibition at the ACMI. I had seen his work at the Govett-Brewster gallery in New Plymouth, but the curators have done a fab job to bring it to Federation Square and I was inspired all over again. The animations are mesmerising. Also, I love his kinetic sculpture, ‘Blade’ which is very simple, but surprising in action, so much so it made me laugh out loud (I wasn’t the only one!).

I finished the day at Melbourne Sustainability Drinks before I pedaled home, further inspired.

Responses

  1. Thanks, I’m so pleased you enjoyed the Len Lye exhibition.


Leave a Reply

Categories

