Posted by: ahallatt | August 19, 2009

The Best Thing About Clayton is the Bulk Buy shop

The Station Trail Isn't That Scenic or Easy to Follow

The Station Trail Isn't That Scenic or Easy to Follow

I took a day trip to Clayton today – it’s about 14km from Elwood and I discovered that you can do much of that via the Station Trail. This cycle/footpath is great, even though it goes through some grotty areas and I made a few wrong turns due to hidden signage. I was going to Clayton because that is where the Monash Museum of Art is (also hard to find and strangely surrounded by freeways with poor cycle access. I guess all students drive these days.) and I thought I’d skive off and see this exhibition, which I had got wind of via Sunday Arts:

Typical scenery on the Station Trail

Typical scenery on the Station Trail

The exhibition was fun – lots of text-based stuff that reminded me of Colin McCahon, perhaps because Richard Lewer is also a Kiwi. But by far the best thing about my visit to Clayton was discovering the bulk buy shop. Cheaper than South Melbourne market and the owner makes sure to source as much stuff from Australia as she can.

Clayton Bulk Buy Shop

Clayton Bulk Buy Shop

Restocked storage jars

Restocked storage jars

Responses

  1. Hi Alex, I just left you a comment in the “About Me” post which probably wasn’t so smart. Just wanted to say I enjoy Arctic Circle and your green slant on humor. Thanks for linking to the Chix; I’ll be back.
    Margaret


Leave a Reply

Categories

