Posted by: ahallatt | May 8, 2009

Americanisms

It’s interesting to see what copy gets changed in my strip for the largely American audience (I often spell things the English way, even though I know it will be changed, as I can’t bear things like zeds instead of esses for “ised”. Most of the time, I don’t notice – a missed comma here, an added hyphen there…. but reading this strip was obvious. Americans spell “draught” D-R-A-F-T! Really?

Another of Oscar's bright ideas

Another of Oscar's bright ideas

Responses

  1. draught = type of beer ordered from a bar. How do youse “English” spellers do the adjective form?

    d-r-a-u-g-h-t-y?

    I don’t know why, but for me, that “a” in your spelling is too much like “o” when handwritten:
    DRAUGHT/DROUGHT
    __ a huge difference when one character is mistaken for another.

    • Yep, that’s how we do it. Funny thing, the English language (probably because it is a bastard language to begin with, with latin, saxon and greek roots at least! Bill Bryson wrote a great book about the divergence of English – a lot of so-called “Americanisms” are Old English that we’ve lost (like “gotten”, which we never use).

  2. I really wish editors WOULDN’T change things. I figure I’m smart enough to understand British v. American English. Changing things just helps Americans forget there’s more to the world than the US of A.

    Okay, rant over. Love the strip!

  3. Thanks, Danielle – much appreciated!


Leave a Reply

Categories

