Posted by: ahallatt | October 7, 2008

Sustainable Living

 

Of course, if the Arctic melts, those stilts have no foundation...

Of course, if the Arctic melts, those stilts have no foundation...

Port Phillip local authority runs a course called “Sustainable Living at Home”. Although I’m more clued up than average on reducing my carbon footprint, there is still plenty to learn/apply and SLAH spurred me to make more of an effort than before. Since the last session, I got around to changing my showerhead, which has cut water use when I shower by nearly two thirds. I’ve also tried to be more religious about turning things off at the wall and shopping even more locally, which has the added benefit of reducing plastic packaging. Paper wrapping ends up either recycled, or in my compost. 

Tonight’s SLAH is about transport. Unlike last session’s “Energy Wise” I’m hoping to ace this one, as I use my bike to get justabout everywhere (even last night, attending the Aussie Cartoonist Association Victorian chapter meeting and cycling back in the dark and the rain)

Leave a Reply

Categories

